Permile

/CYBERCAB · OWNERSHIP TRACKER

Can I buy one yet?

Status

Not yet.

Updated 2026-09-10

Tesla started Cybercab rides in Austin on 3 September 2026, but every Cybercab built so far runs in Tesla's own fleet. There is no consumer order page, price, or delivery date; Musk's stated target is under $30,000 with consumer sales 'in 2026'. On launch day Tesla opened an interest form for businesses that want to buy fleets. Adding a personal Tesla to the network is promised with no date.

Official: tesla.com/cybercab (Tesla's Cybercab page and fleet interest form). Sources: Yahoo Finance on X, 3 Sep 2026 (findings doc), Newsweek: Can you buy the Tesla Cybercab?, EVwire: fleet interest form went live on launch day, Teslarati: Musk on pricing and consumer release.

Latest headlines

Cybercab and robotaxi stories from Electrek, Teslarati, Not a Tesla App and InsideEVs, plus robotaxi threads from our owner research. Headlines and links only; refreshed every four hours.

Loading headlines…

Rollout by city

Where Tesla's own robotaxi service runs today. Public ownership is a separate question, answered above. Verified means confirmed by Tesla or a filing; Unverified is press or community reporting.

Austin, TX

liveVerified

Cars

Not disclosed by Tesla. Texas DMV automated-vehicle records (via FSD Database, press-reported): 314 robotaxis authorized statewide on 3 Sep 2026, of which 45 Cybercabs (rest Model Y); 49 Cybercabs by 8 Sep. Registered, not necessarily on the road; community trackers estimate about 85 active cars across all live markets.

Supervision

Unsupervised: no safety monitor on customer rides. Hours 6am-10pm, 7 days, since 26 Aug 2026, when Tesla's @robotaxi account said the unsupervised fleet is 'a lot bigger' without a number.

Tesla-operated service; public Cybercab rides since the 3 Sep 2026 launch event. Fares reported 45-57% below Uber in Austin. Texas counts are statewide (Austin, Dallas, Houston zones).

San Francisco Bay Area, CA

limitedUnverified

Cars

About 168 Model Ys (early 2026, unverified); not disclosed since

Supervision

Supervised: safety driver in the driver's seat; California DMV testing permit only, no driverless permit

Source

Wikipedia: Tesla Robotaxi

2026-09  ·  single source

Runs as a ride-hailing service 6am-2am with a human in the seat; serves San Jose airport since Oct 2025.

Las Vegas, NV

announcedUnverified

Cars

0 public rides. Nevada Transportation Authority permit approved 20 Aug 2026 allows up to 5,000 driverless vehicles in Clark County over 12 months, replacing an interim permit that capped Tesla at 10 cars on a stretch of the Strip. Tesla's Cybercab chief engineer told regulators about 2,500 in year one would be a success. Model Y first, Cybercab later.

Supervision

Driverless permitted: unanimous NTA vote 20 Aug 2026; Tesla may expand statewide by notifying the authority. No launch date announced.

Waymo and Uber were approved the same day for up to 1,000 vehicles each.

Florida (Miami, Orlando, Tampa)

liveUnverified

Cars

Not disclosed

Supervision

Unsupervised per Tesla's Q2 2026 shareholder update (as summarized by press; filing not checked directly)

Source

Tesla Q2 2026 update (SEC exhibit)

2026-07  ·  single source

Tesla lists Miami, Orlando and Tampa as unsupervised markets alongside Austin, Dallas and Houston.

Edit src/data/cybercab.json to update a row; every row needs a source link and a date.

Alert me when ownership opens.

One email when Tesla lets the public buy a Cybercab or add a personal Tesla to the network. Nothing else.

How many would you run?

No spam, no selling your email. See the privacy page.

Would it pay? Run the numbers before ownership opens →